Michigan State University

Michigan State University wordmark Michigan State University masthead graphic

Madison alumni are an extraordinarily innovative group. They achieve success in government, politics, business, education, science, arts, and human services, as well as continue their education at top graduate and law schools.

JMC Alumni Association Awards

The James Madison College Alumni Association Board of Directors sponsors two annual awards to honor distinguished alumni and friends of the college. The Distinguished Alumni and Honorary Alumni awards have been established to acknowledge those individuals who have significantly contributed to the college. Distinguished and Honorary Alumni are nominated by fellow alumni and members of the college faculty and administration.


JMCAA encourages alumni, faculty, staff and friends to submit nominations of qualified candidates at any time. Please provide a letter of recommendation which includes examples of nominee's dedication to James Madison College and his/her professional and personal accomplishments. To make a nomination or if you have any questions, please contact Sam Troutman (samtrout). The deadline to make nominations is December 15 of each year for the nomination to be considered for presentation at the next spring commencement.

Selection Criteria

Distinguished Alumni Award:

  • Must be an alumnus/a of James Madison College.
  • Must have achieved prominence in her or his field.
  • Must have demonstrated service to James Madison College.

Honorary Alumni Award:

  • Non-graduates of James Madison College whose efforts have significantly contributed to the progress and development of the college.


2019 Anne M. Mervenne
2018 Mary Kay Henry
2017 Kathleen Romig Krepps
2016 Frederick Headen
2016 Derek J. Sarafa (posthumous)
2015 Terry Terry
2014 Daniel Oginsky
2013 Mary Norton McConnell
2012 Charles Kalil
2011 Mary Lynn Noah
2010 Dayne Walling & Carrie Booth Walling
2009 Randall Smith
2008 Jeff Williams
2007 Marilyn J. Darling
2006 Jeffrey Cummings
2005 Celia V. Martin
2004 Teresa A. Sullivan
2003 Nell Hennessy
2002 Steven Webster
2001 Wallace Jefferson
2000 Richard Cordray
1999 Paul Long
1998 Bryce Sandler
1997 Michael McConnell


2019 Curtis Stokes
2019 Donna Hofmeister
2018 Robert L. Green
2017 Rajmohan Gandhi
2015 Kenneth Waltzer
2014 Richard Zinman
2013 Jackie Stewart (Posthumous)
2012 Michael Schechter
2011 Jonas Zoninsein (Posthumous)
2010 Katherine O’Sullivan See
2009 R. William and Claudia Holland
2008 Douglas Hoekstra (Posthumous)
2007 Robert Banks
2006 Jack Paynter (Posthumous)
2005 Ronald Dorr
2004 Michael Rubner
2003 Burton Gerber
2002 Barbara Steidle
2001 Louis Hirsh
2000 Dixie Platt
1999 David Porteous
1998 Gordon Guyer
1997 Herbert Garfinkel
1996 Barbara Sawyer-Koch